top of page

Dell PowerEdge Server Names: What Those Letters and Numbers Actually Mean

Have you ever wondered what those letters and numbers in the Dell PowerEdge server names actually mean? Let's figure it out.

A picture of various Dell PowerEdge servers, including rack-mountable, tower, and modular models.

Save money with us: Refurbished Dell PowerEdge servers with 5-year warranty!

Starting with the 10th generation, Dell PowerEdge server models usually have a name that combines a letter or letters with a sequence of three or four digits (e.g., PowerEdge R730, PowerEdge R6515, or PowerEdge MX740c).

Meaning of the First Letter in Dell PowerEdge Server Names

The first letter shows the type of Dell PowerEdge server:

  • C = C Series; Modular and compute optimized server nodes and servers for hyper-scale environments

  • F = Flexible - Hybrid rack-based sleds for rack-based FX2/FX2s enclosure

  • HS = Optimized solutions tailored for cloud service providers

  • M or MX* = Modular - Blade servers and other items for the modular enclosure MX7000, M1000e and/or VRTX

  • R = Rack-mountable servers

  • T = Tower Servers

  • XE = Purpose-built for complex, emerging workloads that require high performance and large storage.

  • XR = Industrial-grade servers for extreme environments.

Three-Number Naming System of Dell PowerEdge Servers

  • The first number after the initial letter signifies the system's class. Numbers 1-3 indicate single CPU systems, 4-7 are for 2 CPU systems, 8 can be either 2 or 4 CPU, and 9 is for 4 CPU systems.

  • The second number marks the generation, with 0 for the 10th generation, 1 for the 11th, and so on.

  • The third number identifies the CPU manufacturer: 0 for Intel and 5 for AMD.

For example, the Dell PowerEdge R740 model is a rack-mountable, dual CPU system from the 14th generation, equipped with Intel processors.

Four-Number Naming System of Dell PowerEdge Servers

  • The first number after the initial letter shows the system class. Numbers 1-5 default to iDRAC Basic, and 6-9 default to iDRAC Express.

  • The second number marks the generation.

  • The third number often signifies the number of CPU sockets: 1 for a single CPU and 2 for dual CPUs.

  • The fourth number identifies the CPU manufacturer: 0 for Intel and 5 for AMD.

For example the Dell PowerEdge R6415 model is a rack-mountable server with a single CPU socket, belonging to the 14th generation, and featuring an AMD processor.


Save money with us: Refurbished Dell PowerEdge servers with 5-year warranty!


Naming System for Dell PowerEdge Enclosures and Chassis

1. Dell PowerEdge MX7000:

Launched as part of the 14th Generation lineup, the Dell PowerEdge MX7000 enclosure features eight slots at the front. These slots can accommodate either 2-socket single-width or 4-socket double-width compute sleds, as well as single-width storage sleds. Server module sleds that are compatible are labeled as MXxxxc, while storage module sleds go by MXxxxxs.

Special Note for Dell PowerEdge MX7000 Modular:

  • MX760c, MX750c, MX740c, and MX840c include an extra 'c' to signify Compute sleds.

  • MX5016s has an 's' added for Storage sleds.

  • MX9116n and MXG610s have an 'n' and 's' added for IO Modules, respectively.

2. Dell PowerEdge M1000E:

Introduced during the 10th generation, the Dell PowerEdge M1000e enclosure can house up to 16 half-height server modules, eight full-height server modules, eight quarter-height server modules, or a combination of these. Server modules that are supported are marked as Mxxx.

3. Dell PowerEdge VRTX:

Introduced in the 12th generation, the Dell PowerEdge VRTX enclosure can accommodate up to four half-height or two full-height server modules, or a mix of both. These server modules are identified as Mxxx, specifically for PE VRTX.

4. Dell PowerEdge FX2/FX2s:

Unveiled in the 13th generation, the Dell PowerEdge FX2 enclosure can support a variety of compute sled types: up to four half-width, up to eight quarter-width, or up to two full-width compute sleds. The FX2s variant also supports half-width storage sleds that are mapped to the compute sleds. Compute sleds are labeled as FCxxx and FMxxx, while storage sleds are FDxxx.

5. Legacy Dell PowerEdge Server Naming Before the 10th Generation

Prior to the 10th generation, Dell PowerEdge servers followed a four-digit naming system (e.g., PowerEdge 2950). Here's how to decode it:

  • First digit: Server class

  • Second digit: Server generation (up to the 9th)

  • Third digit: Server form factor (5 for rack, 0 for tower)

  • Fourth digit: Indicates blade or standalone server (5 for blade, 0 for standalone)

For example, the Dell PowerEdge 2950 model is a 2U rack server from the 9th generation, designed as a standalone system.

List of Gen 14, 15 and 16 Dell PowerEdge Server Models

Dell PowerEdge C Series:

- 16G: C6600, C6615, C6620

- 15G: C6520, C6525

- 14G: C4140, C6400, C6420

Dell PowerEdge HS Series:

- 16G: HS5610, HS5620

Dell PowerEdge Modular Models:

- 16G: MX760c

- 15G: MX750c

- 14G: FC640, M640, M640 (for PE VRTX), MX7000, MX740c, MX840c, MX5016s

Dell PowerEdge Rack Models:

- 16G: R660, R660xs, R6615, R6625, R760, R760XA, R760xd2, R760xs, R7615, R7625, R860, R960

- 15G: R250, R350, R450, R550, R650, R650xs, R6515, R6525, R750, R750xa, R750xs, R7515, R7525

- 14G: R240, R340, R440, R540, R640, R6415, R740, R740xd, R740xd2, R7415, R7425, R840, R940, R940xa

Dell PowerEdge Tower Models:

- 16G: T560

- 15G: T150, T350, T550

- 14G: T40, T140, T340, T440, T640

Dell PowerEdge XE Models:

- 16G: XE8640, XE9680

- 15G: XE8545

- 14G: XE2420, XE7100, XE7420, XE7440

Dell PowerEdge XR Models:

- 16G: XR5610, XR7620, XR8000r, XR8610t, XR8620t

- 15G: XR4000r, XR4000w, XR4000z, XR4510c, XR4520c, XR11, XR12

- 14G: XR2

Save money with us: Refurbished Dell PowerEdge servers with 5-year warranty!


bottom of page